Memorial Day Weekend

I am having a great Memorial Day Weekend. Using my Tablespoon measurements, I will be able to stay within my calorie count limits. What about those large serving spoons that sits into every side dish? I figured out that they triple serving sizes. Therefore, I plan on just filling mine a third of the spoon.
A lot of BBQ, potato salad, baked beans, coleslaw and of course cold beer. I like macaroni salad better for hot weather and green beans or a green bean salad with yellow green beans added and kidney beans with oil and vinegar dressing. I add minced green onion and some roasted garlic to both salads and some feta cheese too. Those two salads are better for people watching their weigh and not as heavy either. I roast a red bell pepper, skin it(350 degree oven-on a cookie sheet sprayed with Pam Olive Oil flatten the red bell pepper, also spray the red bell pepper with it. Let it roast until it’s tender. Let it cool. Carefully remove skin, slice lengthways and then across. Add to salads. Garlic- wash a whole pod, dry with paper towel.
In some foil before folding it, drizzle on some Colavita Olive Oil and a pinch of salt and pepper. Fold foil and let roast in a 350 degree oven until softened. Let cool. With a fork, carefully take out the garlic inside. Add to salads.

When the weather gets hotter, Mediterranean food inspires me. Lots of fresh lemons, interesting salads, vegetables, grilled fish, rice and pasta dishes. olives, Greek and Italian cheeses. Roasted bell peppers and roasted garlic. Icy drinks made with white wine spritzers or an ultra light beer and of course, lots of water. Desserts become fresh fruits and yogurt. A fun way to watch calories. The whole idea is to keep food for summer fresh and light.

Happy Memorial Day!!!!

Leave a comment